Apr 9, 2008

The 2008 Pulitzer Prizes

The Pulitzer Prize, is an American award regarded as the highest national honor in print journalism, literary achievements and musical composition. It is administered by Columbia University in New York City.

The prize was established by Joseph Pulitzer, a Hungarian-American journalist and newspaper publisher, who left money to Columbia University upon his death in 1911. A portion of his bequest was used to found the university's journalism school in 1912. The first Pulitzer Prizes were awarded on June 4, 1917, and they are now announced each April. Recipients are chosen by an independent board.

Prizes are awarded yearly in twenty-one categories. In twenty of these, each winner receives a certificate and a US$10,000 cash reward. The winner in the public service category of the journalism competition is awarded a gold medal, which always goes to a newspaper, although an individual may be named in the citation.

The 2008 Pulitzer Prizes for Journalism:
  • PUBLIC SERVICE: The Washington Post
  • BREAKING NEWS REPORTING: The Washington Post Staff
  • INVESTIGATIVE REPORTING: Walt Bogdanich and Jake Hooker of The New York Times
  • INVESTIGATIVE REPORTING: The Chicago Tribune Staff
  • EXPLANATORY REPORTING: Amy Harmon of The New York Times
  • LOCAL REPORTING: David Umhoefer of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
  • NATIONAL REPORTING: Jo Becker and Barton Gellman of The Washington Post
  • INTERNATIONAL REPORTING: Steve Fainaru of The Washington Post
  • FEATURE WRITING: Gene Weingarten of The Washington Post
  • COMMENTARY: Steve Pearlstein of The Washington Post
  • CRITICISM: Mark Feeney of The Boston Globe
  • EDITORIAL CARTOONING: Michael Ramirez of Investor's Business Daily
  • BREAKING NEWS PHOTOGRAPHY: Adrees Latif of Reuters
  • FEATURE PHOTOGRAPHY: Preston Gannaway of the Concord Monitor

The 2008 Pulitzer Prizes for Letters, Drama and Music:
  • FICTION: The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz (Riverhead Books)
  • DRAMA: August: Osage County by Tracy Letts
  • HISTORY: What Hath God Wrought by Daniel Walker Howe (Oxford University Press)
  • BIOGRAPHY: Eden's Outcasts by John Matteson (W.W. Norton)
  • POETRY: Time and Materials by Robert Hass (Ecco/HarperCollins)
  • POETRY: Failure by Philip Schultz (Harcourt)
  • GENERAL NONFICTION: The Years of Extermination by Saul Friedlander (HarperCollins)
  • MUSIC: The Little Match Girl Passion by David Lang (G. Schirmer)


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...